Government | Oswego New York Skip to main content

Oswego was incorporated as a village on March 14, 1828, and the Oswego Canal, a branch of the Erie Canal, reached the area in 1829. The city was incorporated in 1848. 

The City of Oswego is bordered by the towns of Oswego, Minetto, and Scriba to the west, south, and east, respectively, and by Lake Ontario to the north.

The City of Oswego, operating with an annual budget of approximately $45 million is governed by a Mayor elected for four (4) year terms and a 7-member Common Council elected for two (2) year terms.

Services are provided by nearly 300 employees through 19 departments. The City of Oswego is governed by the current youngest Mayor in New York State, William J. Barlow, Jr.

Community Resources